Monday, June 25, 2018

STEVIE VANN (Lange) - Stevie Vann + 3-track Single (1995)

STEVIE VANN (Lange) - Stevie Vann + 3-track Single (1995)

STEVIE VANN (aka Stevie Lange) born as Stevie Van Kerken in Mufulira, Northern Rhodesia (now Zambia). Married to record producer Robert 'Mutt' Lange, in the late '70s Stevie met Chris Thompson while performing backing vocals for a Manfred Mann's Earth Band album.
Thompson approached Vann to form the Melodic Rock band 'Night', releasing two really good albums.
Stevie Vann is a well known vocal coach, including services to Joe Elliot, Atomic Kitten, Robbie Williams, etc. and sung live with Byan Adams, Elton John, Joe Cocker and Brian May just to name few. She also did backing vocals on "When Love And Hate Collide" (Vault version) for Def Leppard.
Additionally, Vann has recorded backup vocals for Manfred Mann, Sweet, Colin Blunstone, Jim Capaldi, Trevor Rabin, UFO, Rick Wakeman and many many more.

Seriously established in the music business, Stevie Vann finally had the opportunity to record her own album as solo artist, co-written and produced by her ex-husband 'Mutt' Lange (Def Leppard, AC/DC), who also sang background vocals. Although their marriage had broken up they still today remain the best of friends.

STEVIE VANN (Lange) - Stevie Vann (1995) back cover
"Stevie Vann - ST" is a real good collection of classic sounding songs, where Stevie's singing is the star. Powerful, colorful vocals, from straight rockers to emotional ballads.
Production is top notch as you could imagine, with 'Mutt' Lange involved and Mike Shipley (Def Leppard, Winger, Foreigner) engineering. Session musicians are awesome too: Dann Huff, Bryan Adams dueting, Max Carl, Bob Carlisle, and the list continues.

Released through a small label, this CD is very hard to find and a collectors piece. I also included as bonus the CDsingle "I'll Take Your Heart", featuring an edit version of the title cut plus two tracks not present in the main album.

"Stevie Vann - ST"
01. What Would You Say?
02. Prove It [duet with Bryan Adams]
03. The Bigger The Better
04. (Let That) River Roll
05. What In The World?
06. Without Your Love (I Can't Live)
07. Will The Last One To Leave
08. I Thought I'd Seen Everything
09. I'll Take Your Heart
10. If Walls Could Talk

"I'll Take Your Heart" CDsingle:

01 - I'll Take Your Heart [single version]
02 - Mysterious [non album track]
03 - He Won't Let Me Be [non album track]

Personnel :
* Dann Huff - electric & acoustic guitars, bass
* Glenn Worf - bass
* Reggie Young - rhythm guitar
* Lonnie Wilson - drums
* Bosco De Olivera - percussion
* Wayne Stalling - keyboards
* John Jarvis - piano
* Steve Nathan - B3 organ and synths
* Philip Nicholas - keyboards, programming
* Richie Buckley - tenor and soprano sax
* Bryan Adams - vocals on "Prove It" (duet)
* Max Carl - backing vocals
* Bob Carlisle - backing vocals
Mike Shipley - engineer, mixing
Robert John "Mutt" Lange - producer, background vocals

STEVIE VANN Lange ST + 3-track Single



Thank you very much,Camel.

Anonymous said...

A real tour de force many thanks for this gem :)