Wednesday, September 24, 2008

1RKO - First Round Knock Out (2007)

The band was born years ago when bassist Derek Spang,member of several groups in the Bay Area in California, decided to join forces with singer Simon Daniels.
Simon, who grew up in Rio de Janeiro where he lived until his teens, it's a L.A. rock scene veteran.
He was part of the band Jailhouse, their debut album sold more than 50.000 copies and had several videos in rotation on MTV Headbangers Ball.

Tired of labels, they decided go indie and edited this record in limited quantity.
The answer surprised and the album sold out. Currently it's only available online on mp3.

Melodic Hard Rock, furious and powerful, like Night Ranger on steroids.
Strong songwriting, well played.
I have added a track that does not come in the original edition, a good cover of the AC / DC classic tune.
Rockin' stuff.

01 - Fox On The Run
02 - One More Time
03 - The Man
04 - So Alive
05 - Right Now
06 - The Outcome
07 - Hand In Hand
08 - Black And White
09 - Hell's Bells [bonus track]

Simon Daniels - Lead Vocals/Guitars/Keys
Brian Spang - Bass/Vocals
Derek Stephens - Guitars
Rich Sacco - Drums


Saturday, September 20, 2008

PRICE-SULTON - Lights On (1986)

Good AOR-Rock, great hooks and soaring choruses.
These guys used to be session players, colaborating in many albums of this genre.
Their colleagues returned the favor, and very well known artists play here uncredited (Steve Stevens amongst them).
Track 2 appears in The Allnighter's soundtrack (posted earlier in my AOR TREASURES - The Soundtracks Vol.3).
Very rare and hard to find album, only released in Japan on vinyl.
Not the best rip in the world, but enough to taste it.

1. Shotgun Shy
2. No TV, No Phone
3. Lights On
4. Take Me Away
5. Shana
6. Something's Gonna Happen
7. Stories
8. Reckless And Wild
9. Heaven's Girl
10. Oh No

Kasim Sulton: Vocals, Bass, Keyboards, Guitar (ex-Utopian member)
Thommy Price: Drums, vocals, guitar (ex-Joan Jett & The Blackhearts)
...and a bunch of well known musicians.


AMANDA SCOTT - Lies 7'' (1988)

What? Dance music in a hard rock AOR place?
Not at all.
Amanda released this smash hit in Europe in the middle of the 80's, and the extended version become a classic among italo-dance-music circles but...its a rock song, with great guitars and punchy keyboards.
Amanda is Bonnie Tyler's sister, rock pulse is in the genes...
IMO, a killer song.

1 - Lies (Single Version)
2 - Lies (Original 7'' Extended Version)

Alfa Records Europe.
Produced by Barry Palmer & Rod Gammons.