Monday, July 20, 2020

HIT THE GROUND RUNNIN' - Sudden Impact (1989)

HIT THE GROUND RUNNIN' - Sudden Impact (1989) fornt
Requested in "REQUEST & FILL CORNER" section...

This one was requested several times, well it's time to be featured here. "Sudden Impact" is the debut album by Philadelphia quintet HIT THE GROUND RUNNIN'. The band and the album holds the title as being the most sought after indie CD at eBay with a copy scoring $1950.52. This is a really cool collection of songs, but not for paying that ridiculous price.

HIT THE GROUND RUNNIN' made an arrangement with a small Canadian recording label, and "Sudden Impact" was released in 1989 in limited quantities. The album is really professionally recorded and mixed, above the average for an indie.
Musically, the band play clean, polished melodic rock, rock&pop and lite AOR here, with the typical sound of the era.
'Magic' has some Loverboy on it, and Blair Ramsey's vocal color reminds me of Kevin Cronin, so the REO Speedwagon comparison is accurate. There's a strong guitar work as on all songs on the CD, including quite imaginative and effective solos.

'Moment To Moment' recalls Starship, 'Slow Motion' some Scandal, and 'Don't You Look Back' has a that pristine Canadian sound from the era. 'Oh No!' is driven by stinging rhythm guitars and has fine harmony vocal arrangements, while the AOR synths of 'An Original' - a favorite - bring to mind Honeymoon Suite.
More poppy, power poppy I'd say is 'Too Late', with a touch of The Outfield, then 'While It Lasted' is a midtempo semi-ballad, again with very good harmony arrangements.

HIT THE GROUND RUNNIN' - Sudden Impact (1989) back

Beyond its status of expensive rarity, "Sudden Impact" is a highly enjoyable '80s AOR product, more in common with the US sound of 1985 than '89. There's strong melodies, fine harmonies, solid guitar work and overall a feel good vibe that put a smile on your face with each song.
Very Recommended. RARE

01 - Magic
02 - Moment To Moment
03 - Slow Motion
04 - Don't You Look Back
05 - Oh No!
06 - An Original
07 - Over & Over
08 - Who's Walking You Home
09 - Too Late
10 - While It Lasted

Blair Ramsey – Lead vocals
Alan Auginnas – Guitar, vocals
Paul Piccaro – Bass, vocals
Jimmy Katone – Drums, vocals
Rob Kay – Keyboards, vocals


Tuesday, July 14, 2020

UNITED NATIONS - The First Move (1985)

UNITED NATIONS - The First Move (1985) front

Stoke-on-Trent, UK, based band UNITED NATIONS were part of the '80s British AOR wave, formed at the beginning of the decade and developing a sound / style similar to their contemporaries Tobruk, Charlie, Monro, etc.
Their one and only album "The First Move" was released via small label Magnet in 1985, but unfortunately, soon after the group went their separate ways.

The opening song titled “Sound Of The Eighties” speaks for itself: indeed this is the mid-'80s melodic rock / AOR sound filled with catchy choruses and melodies.
"You Cheated" is another instant favorite, and more highlights appear with "We Will Live Forever" and "Black Heart", while on other songs United Nations explore some different sounds providing variation.

UNITED NATIONS - The First Move (1985) back

The core of United Nations recorded a comeback album some years ago, re-working some of the tunes from this LP along with new ones.
A very hard to find vinyl, "The First Move" never was reissued on CD or any other format.
This is a LP-rip cleaned to get the best sound quality possible.

01 - Sound Of The Eighties
02 - The Night That Last Forever
03 - The First Move
04 - You Cheated
05 - Common Denominator
06 - Violation Of A Freedom
07 - We Will Live Forever
08 - Blackheart
09 - Speak After The Tone
10 - Paying The Price Of Love

Paul Cafferty – Lead and Backing Vocals
Gary Davis – Guitars, Backing Vocals
Peter Hankey – Bass
Chris Mooney – Drums, Backing Vocals
Chris Stonier – Keyboards