Wednesday, November 07, 2012

CLIF MAGNESS - Solo [Japan release + bonus] (1994)

Requested in "Request & Fill Corner" section...

Mr. CLIF MAGNESS is one of the most accomplished songwriters from the last three decades in the rock&pop music business.
This Grammy award winner has been a successful producer as well, cooking hits for Jack Wagner, Sheena Easton, Cheap Trick and countless artists.
In 1994 Clif released his first (and sadly, the only) solo album, aptly entitled "Solo", regarded as one of the top AOR recordings of all time.

But for this timeless sounding AOR / Westcoast / AC gem, Magness wasn't 'solo' at all: co-writing with Clif there's the talents of Martin Page, Steve Kipner, Glen Ballard and Mark Mueller, all of them contibuting backing vocals as well.
And with exquisite musicians such as Jay Graydon and the same Glen Ballard helping tu build these beautiful sounds, we have a winner CD.

Originally released in Sweden, "Solo" was quicky picked up by Japanese label Toshiba to satisfiy the Asian market, avid for this kind of music.
This is a rip from the Japan CD edition, which those years used to deliver a noticeable better, pristine sound than the manufactured in other parts of the world.
Long time out of print, "Solo" was reissued by an European label not so long ago featuring two previously unreleased songs as bonus tracks.
A Must Have.

01 - Footprints in the Rain
02 - It's Only Love
03 - Hold Me Lee Anne
04 - One Way Out
05 - Khalela
06 - Jenny's Still in Love
07 - Only You
08 - If We Can't Do It
09 - Flower Girl
10 - What's a Heart to Do
11 - Solo
12 - Dreams Fade Away
13 - Ready or Not
14 - Black & White (bonus track)
15 - Running Forever (bonus track)

Clif Magness: vocals, guitars, programming, keyboards, synths
Glen Ballard: keyboards, backing vocals
Jay Graydon: guitar solos
Aina Olsen, Martin Page, Mark Mueller: backing vocals

CLIF MAGNESS - Solo + bonus


ariewayq said...

Its nice info i like it
come to my sample music please and leave your a suport

Thanks By ariewayq

Trentino said...

Very nice and hard to find. Thank you!