Saturday, December 19, 2009

STEVIE VANN (Lange) - Stevie Vann (1995)

Requested in "Request & Fill Corner 2" section...
Stevie Vann Lange (aka Stevie Lange; Stevie Vann) born as Stevie van Kerken in Mufulira, Northern Rhodesia (now Zambia).
Married to record producer Robert "Mutt" Lange, in the late 70's Vann met CHRIS THOMPSON when performing backing vocals for a Manfred Mann's Earth Band album.
Thompson approached Vann to form a band; NIGHT, releasing 2 albums.

She is a well known vocal coach, including services to Joe Elliot, Atomic Kitten, Robbie Williams, etc. and sung live with Byan Adams, Elton John, Joe Cocker, Brian May.
Also she did backing vocals on the version of DEF LEPPARD's "When Love And Hate Collide" on their Vault compilation.
Additionally, she has sung backup for Manfred Mann, Sweet, Colin Blunstone, Jim Capaldi, Trevor Rabin, UFO, Rick Wakeman and many many more.

In the nineties, finally, she has recorded her first full lengh solo album, co-written and produced by her ex-husband, "Mutt" Lange, who also sang background vocals (although their marriage had broken up they still today remain the best of friends).

This is a real good collection of classic rock style songs, were Stevie's voice is the star.
Powerful, colorful vocals, from straight rockers to emotional ballads.
Production is top notch as you could imagine, with MUTT LANGE involved and MIKE SHIPLEY (Def Leppard, Winger, Foreigner) engineering.
Session musicians are awesome too: DANN HUFF, BRYAN ADAMS, MAX CARL, BOB CARLISLE, etc.
Released through a small label, this CD is very hard to find (out of print).

As bonus, I've included a very rare 1981 vinyl single + artwork, the killer "Remember My Name", only released in UK.

1. What Would You Say?
2. Prove It (duet with Bryan Adams)
3. The Bigger The Better
4. (Let That) River Roll
5. What In The World
6. Without Your Love (I Can't Live)
7. Will The Last One To Leave
8. I Thought I'd Seen Everything
9. I'll Take Your Heart
10. If Walls Could Talk

Personnel :
* Dann Huff - string bass, electric and acoustic guitars
* Glenn Worf - bass
* Reggie Young - rhythm guitar
* Lonnie Wilson - drums
* Bosco De Olivera - percussion
* Wayne Stalling - keyboards
* John Jarvis - piano
* Steve Nathan - B3 organ and synth
* Philip Nicholas - keyboards, programming
* Richie Buckley - tenor and soprano sax

Guests :
* Bryan Adams - vocals on "Prove It" (duet)
* Max Carl - backing vocals
* Bob Carlisle - backing vocals

Mike Shipley - engineer, mixing
Robert John "Mutt" Lange - producer, background vocals

"Remember My Name + 1" RCA single 1981

Re-posted Here


aorheart said...

WOW Camelblue !!! You are the real MASTER !!!

320Kbps + artwork !!!! GREAT WORK !!!

and also many thanks for the BONUS Single !!!!

I have also a 3-track single from stevie Vann " I'll Take Your Heart "1995 with the follow tracks:
1. I'll Take Your Heart
2. Mysterious
3. He Won't Let Me Be

You can get it when you are interested ?

Camelblue said...

Glad you like it aorheart. My pleasure.
Of course, please upload Vann's " I'll Take Your Heart " to "REQUEST & FILL CORNER" section!

Freeman said...

Thank you for nice rare songs with essential details.

Thank you from Thailand, Camelblue.

vensiders said...

Wonderful, really!