Wednesday, May 23, 2012

THE PRESIDENT - By Appointment Of [Japan CD] (1983)

Requested in "Request & Fill Corner" section...

Classy AOR / West Coast is not an exclusive patrimony of the prodigious L.A. scene.
THE PRESIDENT was an eighties project involving both genres by two excellent Dutch musicians & producers; Pim Koopman and Okkie Huysdens.
Huysdens was previously part of the rock&pop band Swan as well a renowned session vocalist recording for many artists.
Koopman was the drummer of Kayak in early seventies and then joined rockers Diesel as the drummer and keyboard player during the '80s.

But The President isn't a rocking affair at all. "By Appointment Of" is a pure early eighties AOR-flavored West Coast album with delicate sounds, refined arrangements and instrumentation.
Opener "Hot Blooded Lady" is a catchy and pleasant groovy typically L.A. session tune. "Workin' Girl" is more relaxed and breezy with excellent harmony vocals, while "Makin' Millionaires" is a top class ballad that reminds me early eighties Alan Parsons.
"Don't Put Me On Hold" has a vibrant vocal performance yet a cruisy melody in the style of Canadians Blue Rose (already presented in this blog). "Turn Me On" is more moving, AOR oriented, with great keyboards like Americans I-Ten and a stabbing guitar solo.

Also in the wonderful first half of the '80s AOR style is one of the highlights of the album; "That's The Way That It Is", penned by the great Paul Bliss and recorded by Uriah Heep on their 'Abominog' album.
"Only Once Is Enough" is another upbeat track with a pop / radio-rock sensibility, followed by the extremely delicate Toto influenced "You're Gonna Like It".
"Outland" is an interesting instrumental with climatic moments, then the disc ends with the uptempo and funky synth of "Goin' Places".

"By Appointment Of" is a classy '80s beauty from start to finish, with a first rate production.
This is a rip from the first ever 2001's CD release, only issued in Japan, @ maximum quality incl. artwork.
Highly Recommended.

01 - Hot-Blooded Lady
02 - Workin' Girl
03 - Makin' Millionaires
04 - Don't Put Me On Hold
05 - Turn Me On
06 - That's The Way That It Is
07 - Only Once Is Enough
08 - You're Gonna Like It
09 - Outland
10 - Goin' Places

Pim Koopman - Keyboards, Drums, Background Vocals
Okkie Huysdens - Lead & Background Vocals, Keyboards
Bas Krumperman - Guitar
Frank Papendrecht - Bass
Hans Vermeulen - Background Vocals

THE PRESIDENT - By Appointment Of