Wednesday, February 16, 2011

VOGEN - Berlin Wall (1990)

Requested in "Request & Fill Corner" section...

Vocalist & guitarist Kevin Vogen has been playing in the Canadian Winnipeg area since the beginning of the '70s.

Working as sessionist or as other artists live musician, Vogen has toured extensively through Canada and USA for almost 40 years.
"Berlin Wall" is his one and only album under his name, recorded with long time friends from the youth years.
His style has the typical Canadian sound, a very light melodic rock / AOR with some pop / Hi-Tech tint.

First track "By The Berlin Wall" is an anthemic poppy AOR with very nice vocals and warm ambiance.
On "Brainstorm" and "Burger Bunny" Vogen sounds like Dan Lucas from the nineties.
"Driftin´" is a very calm ballad with a good doses of keyboards. One of my favorite tracks here.
The band sounds as they country fellas New Regime on "Too Late", while "Systematic Breakdown" has a Tom Cochrane (Red Rider) feel over it.

Another of my picks from this album is "Master Of The Other Cheek", musically much in the vein of the underrated band Neverland.
"Why" is where Vogen adds some Hi-Tech elements to his music, this song is very wimp and nice to the ears.
The rest of the material is rock&pop oriented, with some ups and downs.

"Berlin Wall" is a fresh and inoffensive easy listening album, not essential but cool, and pretty hard to find.

01 - By The Berlin Wall
02 - Brainstorm
03 - Driftin'
04 - Too Late
05 - Misconceptions (In The Room)
06 - Burger Bunny
07 - Systematic Breakdown
08 - Master Of The Other Cheek
09 - Miracle Man
10 - Point Of Blue
11 - Why

Kevin Vogen : Lead vocals, acoustic guitar
Laurie Asbil : Bass, backing vocals
Greg Duncan : Lead guitar, backing vocals
Don Le Roux : Guitar, keyboards, backing vocals
Mark McGovern : Drums, percussion

Updated HERE